Skip to content

True Blood – The Great Revelation

September 15, 2008

HBO just launched its new series called True Blood and since it is “the new thing” to release a comic book with your new series, I thought I’d take a look. True Blood – The Great Revelation is a Top Cow release, written by Brian Cain, Gregg Hale and David Wohl and featuring art by Jason Badower. The art is fairly standard, nothing exceptional here, but it is still very nice. The story revolves around the Vampire King from California, who explains how the world has changed for his race. Since the Japanese have developed synthetic blood, there is no need any more for the vampires to kill in order to sustain themselves. So this comic book is actually only a short introduction to the world of True Blood. And best of all you can read it for free on their official website.

I also watched the first episode of the series, which premiered last Sunday, and I must say that my interest was aroused. I’m not sure if this will become one of my new favorites, but I will definitely watch the next few episodes to find out. I won’t tell you what exactly the show is about as I think it would ruin the pilot for you. I’m not sure if True Blood will feature regular comic books online, like Heroes does or if this is just a onetime thing for introductory purposes. Story 7, Art 6.5, Re-read 6, Overall Rating 6.5

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Landi permalink
    September 15, 2008 4:13 pm

    I have seen the Preair of the series two or three weeks ago and i think True Blood will be one of my regular series. If the writers can keep the story at the same level of the pilot of course.
    But the vampires seen in a completly different light (artifical of course) and demanding civil rights in a human society sounds interesting. And come one.. Vampires!

  2. September 15, 2008 7:45 pm

    True Blood resembles Heroes at first glance (just rented the first episode from Blockbuster), though it still feels mostly original… for some reason this show makes me want to eat Cajun food and drink cheap beer

Leave a Reply

